H.R. NO.













congratulating the winners of the hawaii: next 50 contest.




     WHEREAS, the future of our State and country depends upon the students of today, for they are the future leaders of the community and should be supported in their every endeavor; and


WHEREAS, the Hawaii: Next 50 Contest is inspired by former Governor George Ariyoshi's book, "Hawaii: The Past Fifty Years, The Next Fifty Years," which looks into our islands' history as a state and prompts the next generation to think about what can be done to keep Hawaii moving forward in the next century; and


WHEREAS, the Hawaii State Plan, developed by Governor Ariyoshi, contained a number of long-range policies regarding Hawaii's future development, with the contribution of ideas from many involved citizens being essential in the planning process; and


WHEREAS, this contest is intended to encourage our youth to take ownership of their future, taking an active role in shaping their communities by voicing their opinion on the direction  the State of Hawaii must take to make it the best place it can be, showing others that their opinions matter and their voices are being heard; and


     WHEREAS, the Hawaii: Next 50 Contest, sponsored by the Hawaii State House of Representatives, the Future Caucus, and the aio Foundation, asks the students of Hawaii: "What do you think needs to happen in the next 50 years for Hawaii to be the best place to work and live?"; and


WHEREAS, over 500 students from grades four to twelve sent submissions to the Hawaii: Next 50 Contest, touching on topics such as the importance of self-sustainability, including being energy, agriculturally, and industrially independent; improving the quality of our State's education system; and preserving all that contributes to our State's uniqueness, such as our native culture, language, flora, and fauna; and


WHEREAS, the submissions of the Hawaii: Next 50 Contest winners, Dallas Kuba of Manoa Elementary, Teyshaun Rosales of Lanakila Elementary, Lindsey Millerd and Bryson Manuel of Waipahu Intermediate School, and Kiani Nishimoto and Kaydee Rapozo of Waiakea High School, best embody the spirit of the Hawaii: Next 50 Contest in proposing solutions to the problems that Hawaii faces today and imagining a path for Hawaii's future in the next 50 years; now, therefore,


     BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-eighth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2015, that this body hereby congratulates the winners of the Hawaii: Next 50 Contest, and expresses to them its deep appreciation for coming up with creative solutions to keep Hawaii moving forward and make it the best place to live and work for the next 50 years and beyond.









Report Title: 

Hawaii: Next 50 Contest Winners