STAND. COM. REP. NO.  1012


Honolulu, Hawaii

                , 2021


RE:   S.B. No. 755

      S.D. 1

      H.D. 1





Honorable Scott K. Saiki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Thirty-First State Legislature

Regular Session of 2021

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection, to which was referred S.B. No. 755, S.D. 1, entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


     The purpose of this measure is to require lessors of rental motor vehicles to include an option for the lessee in the motor vehicle rental agreement to contribute a sum to the Department of Land and Natural Resources for the preservation and protection of the environment.


     Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Land and Natural Resources.  Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from Avis Budget Group and Enterprise Holdings.


Your Committee finds that the protection of natural resources is critical to the future of the State's tourism industry.  As other states have successfully used voluntary contribution check-off boxes to raise money for the protection of their natural resources, your Committee finds that a similar program in Hawaii could be successful in raising funds for the State's own environmental management and visitor engagement.


     Your Committee has amended this measure by:


     (1)  Changing the effective date to July 1, 2050, to encourage further discussion; and


     (2)  Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for the purposes of clarity, consistency, and style.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 755, S.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 755, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce.



Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection,