STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1166
RE: H.B. No. 160
Honorable Ronald D. Kouchi
President of the Senate
Thirty-First State Legislature
Regular Session of 2021
State of Hawaii
Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred H.B. No. 160, H.D. 1, entitled:
"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO REGISTRATION OF VEHICLES,"
begs leave to report as follows:
The purpose and intent of this measure is to increase the registration fee requirement for "U-drive motor vehicles," as defined by section 286-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes, to match the registration fees for other motor vehicles.
Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Finance Department of the County of Kaua‘i.
Your Committee finds that U-drive motor vehicles are motor vehicles that are rented or leased for a period of six months or less. These vehicles are charged a fee that is statutorily capped at $1 for U-drive vehicles and $2 for all other types of vehicles. The fees collected fund the costs associated with collection and disposal of abandoned or derelict vehicles. Abandoned and derelict vehicles are an eyesore on the side of the road that detract from the natural beauty of the State. They negatively impact the environment, the quality of life for residents, and detract from the visitor experience. This measure will increase the resources available to the counties to clean up these abandoned and derelict vehicles by increasing the fee charged to U-drive motor vehicles to be the same amount that is charged to other vehicles.
As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 160, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Second Reading and be referred to your Committees on Judiciary and Ways and Means.
Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,
CHRIS LEE, Chair