STAND. COM. REP. NO.  562-20


Honolulu, Hawaii

                , 2020


RE:   H.B. No. 2528

      H.D. 1





Honorable Scott K. Saiki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Thirtieth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2020

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred H.B. No. 2528, H.D. 1, entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


     The purpose of this measure is to:


(1)  Limit the civil liability of a licensed veterinarian who rendered care to a sick or injured animal in an emergency or outside of a veterinarian-client-patient relationship;


(2)  Require a veterinarian to make an appropriate record of the circumstances that would limit the veterinarian's liability; and


(3)  Require a veterinarian to report to appropriate county law enforcement authorities if there is reasonable belief that:


(A)  Animals were injured or killed in a staged animal fight; or


(B)  An animal is the victim of animal abuse or cruelty.


     Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Board of Veterinary Medicine, Animal Interfaith Alliance, Animal Welfare Institute, National LINK Coalition, Hawaii Veterinary Medical Association, Hawaiian Humane Society, Animal Rights Hawaii, and eleven individuals.


     Your Committee finds that this measure will encourage veterinarians to provide care to injured or sick animals in situations where a clear veterinarian-client-patient relationship may be lacking.  Your Committee further finds that this measure, through its reporting requirements, will also serve as a means to curtail staged animal fights and animal abuse and cruelty and further protect veterinarians, as mandatory reporters, from civil liability.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2528, H.D. 1, and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.



Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,