STAND. COM. REP. NO.  147-20


Honolulu, Hawaii

                , 2020


RE:   H.B. No. 2243

      H.D. 1





Honorable Scott K. Saiki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Thirtieth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2020

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Lower & Higher Education, to which was referred H.B. No. 2243 entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


     The purpose of this measure is to expand the Department of Education's certification incentive program to include school speech pathologists, whom have completed the components of the certification program of the American Speech-Language Hearing Association.


     Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Hawaii Speech-Language-Hearing Association and numerous individuals.  Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of Education and Hawaii Government Employees Association, AFSCME Local 152, AFL-CIO.


Your Committee finds that in the Department of Education, speech pathologists are a vital member of a school's comprehensive student support team.  Speech pathologists have specialized knowledge of the foundational speech and language skills needed for students to successfully participate in reading development, written expression, social interaction, and general academic readiness.  This measure will have a positive effect on the recruitment and retention of highly qualified speech pathologists within the Department of Education.


     Your Committee has amended this measure by changing the effective date to July 1, 2050, to encourage further discussion.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Lower & Higher Education that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2243, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2243, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committees on Health and Consumer Protection & Commerce.



Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Lower & Higher Education,