STAND. COM. REP. NO.  343-20


Honolulu, Hawaii

                , 2020


RE:   H.B. No. 1955

      H.D. 1





Honorable Scott K. Saiki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Thirtieth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2020

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred H.B. No. 1955 entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


     The purpose of this measure is to establish a framework for the Department of Transportation and the counties to regulate electric foot scooters.


     Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Transportation, County of Kauai, Department of Transportation Services of the City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii Bicycling League, and Ulupono Initiative.  Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from the Hawaii Association for Justice.  Your Committee received comments on this measure from Spin, Lime, and Bird.


     Your Committee finds that the types of motorized vehicles that are being introduced in the market are very innovative and constantly being updated based on technology and ease of widespread adoption.  In particular, electric foot scooters are experiencing an increase in popularity as an environmentally friendly alternative to driving.  This measure establishes a framework for the regulation of the electric foot scooters that are being introduced to Hawaii.


     Your Committee has amended this measure by:


     (1)  Changing its effective date to July l, 2050, to encourage further discussion; and


     (2)  Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for the purposes of clarity, consistency, and style.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 1955, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 1955, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Judiciary.



Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,