STAND. COM. REP. NO.  376-20


Honolulu, Hawaii

                , 2020


RE:   H.B. No. 1689

      H.D. 1





Honorable Scott K. Saiki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Thirtieth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2020

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred H.B. No. 1689 entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


     The purpose of this measure is to prohibit the manufacture and sale of certain animal fur products.


     Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from Inditex; H&M; 3.1 Phillip Lim; InStyle; Stella McCartney Ltd; In Defense of Animals; Fur Free Society, Inc.; International Anti‑Fur Coalition; Born Free USA; People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals; Animal Legal Defense Fund; The Humane Society of the United States; Animal Hope in Legislation; Four Paws USA; Humane Society Veterinary Medical Association; Animal Welfare Institute; and twenty individuals.  Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from one individual.  Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.


     Your Committee finds that existing laws provide relatively little oversight of the fur farming and fur trade industries.  Your Committee further finds that eliminating the manufacture and sale of fur products in Hawaii will foster a more humane environment in the State.


     Your Committee has amended this measure by:


     (1)  Changing the effective date to July 1, 2050, to encourage further discussion; and


     (2)  Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for the purposes of clarity, consistency, and style.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 1689, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 1689, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Finance.



Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,