STAND. COM. REP. NO.  1444


Honolulu, Hawaii

                , 2019


RE:   S.B. No. 281

      S.D. 1

      H.D. 1





Honorable Scott K. Saiki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Thirtieth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2019

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Health, to which was referred S.B. No. 281, S.D. 1, entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


     The purpose of this measure is to appropriate funds to maintain existing pre-hospital emergency medical services.


     The Department of Health (DOH), Honolulu Emergency Services Department, and American Medical Response testified in support of this measure.


     Your Committee has amended this measure by:


     (1)  Inserting language requiring DOH to contract with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) to study the State Comprehensive Emergency Medical Services System to identify issues and problems and propose initiatives to improve the system;


     (2)  Appropriating funds for the NHTSA study; and


     (3)  Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for clarity, consistency, and style.

     Your Committee notes that DOH estimates a need for $50,000 to cover the cost for the NHTSA study.  Your Committee further notes that the last study of the State Comprehensive Emergency Medical Services System was conducted in 1991.  Finally, your Committee notes that there is a significant need for the State and counties to work together in a smart and effective manner to ensure adequate and appropriate coverage of emergency medical services for all persons in Hawaii, regardless of their geographic location.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Health that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 281, S.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 281, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Finance.



Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Health,