Honolulu, Hawaii

, 2019


RE: H.B. No. 921

H.D. 2





Honorable Scott K. Saiki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Thirtieth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2019

State of Hawaii




Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 921, H.D. 1, entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


The purpose of this measure is to authorize the Executive Office on Early Learning (EOEL) to serve as the overseer of state-funded early learning programs, except for special education and Title I funded programs.


EOEL, Parents And Children Together, Institute for Native Pacific Education and Culture, Hawaii Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics, Hawaii Children's Action Network, Head Start Association of Hawaii, Oahu County Committee on Legislative Priorities of the Democratic Party of Hawaii, and many individuals supported this measure.


The Department of Education (DOE) Complex Area Superintendents of Kailua-Kalaheo, Pearl City-Waipahu, Baldwin-Kekaulike-Maui, Hana-Lahainaluna-Lanai-Molokai, Kapaa-Kauai-Waimea, Castle-Kahuku, Kaimuki-McKinley-Roosevelt, and Leilehua-Mililani-Waialua; Kamehameha Schools; Kaneohe Elementary School; Keaau Middle School; Heeia Elementary School; Kaumana Elementary School; Alvah A. Scott Elementary School; Honokaa Elementary School; Waialua Elementary School; Queen Kaahumanu Elementary School; Ala Wai Elementary School; Mountain View Elementary School; Pahoa High and Intermediate School; Kau High and Pahala Elementary School; Daniel K. Inouye Elementary School; Maemae Elementary School; Wahiawa Elementary School; Samuel Enoka Kalama Intermediate School; Haiku Elementary School; Pukalani Elementary School; Kihei Elementary School; Kamalii Elementary School; Waihee Elementary School; Pomaikai Elementary School; Wailuku Elementary School; Hana High and Elementary School; Princess Nahienaena Elementary School; Makawao Elementary School; Puu Kukui Elementary School; Lanai High and Elementary School; Paia Elementary School; Henry Perrine Baldwin High School; and several individuals opposed this measure.


DOE and Early Learning Board provided comments.


Your Committee has amended this measure by:


(1) Specifying that the EOEL shall have the administrative authority, rather than oversight, over all state-funded prekindergarten programs, except for special education and Title I-funded prekindergarten programs;


(2) Transferring any prekindergarten programs under the DOE, except for special education and Title I-funded programs, to the EOEL; provided that the DOE shall continue to provide certain facilities and operational, capital, and maintenance services;


(3) Specifying that the DOE shall not use weighted student formula moneys for prekindergarten programs except special education and Title I-funded prekindergarten programs;


(4) Specifying that the Director of the EOEL shall have the final authority to sign off on the various documents related to the EOEL;


(5) Clarifying the roles of the DOE and EOEL regarding prekindergarten programs in the State;


(6) Amending the content of annual reports on all prekindergarten classes operated by EOEL, DOE, and public charter schools;


(7) Establishing an application process for schools interested in participating in prekindergarten programs;


(8) Incorporating additional quality standards for prekindergarten programs; and


(9) Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for clarity, consistency, and style.


As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 921, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 921, H.D. 2.


Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,