STAND. COM. REP. NO.  1285


Honolulu, Hawaii

                , 2017


RE:   S.B. No. 1084

      S.D. 2

      H.D. 1





Honorable Joseph M. Souki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Twenty-Ninth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2017

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred S.B. No. 1084, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


     The purpose of this measure is to address the operations of the Hawaii Tourism Authority (Authority) by:


     (1)  Requiring the Governor to appoint members of the Authority Board of Directors (Board) within ninety days of receiving lists of nominees from the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives;


     (2)  Clarifying that information discussed at an executive meeting of the Board that relates to marketing plans and strategies is required to be disclosed after execution of those plans and strategies;


     (3)  Requiring the Authority to submit an unredacted report of summary descriptions and planned and actual expenditures of contracts and agreements entered into by the Authority and a detailed annual budget for the Authority to the Governor and the Legislature; and


     (4)  Requiring the Board to develop policies and procedures on approving any expenditures of excess or carryover funds.


     The Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Association, Marriott Resorts Hawaii, Island Air, Hilton Hawaii, and an individual supported this measure.  Outrigger Hotels Hawaii supported the intent of this measure.  The Civil Beat Law Center for the Public Interest opposed this measure.  The Office of Information Practices, Hawaii Tourism Authority, and The Royal Hawaiian provided comments.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 1084, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.



Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,