STAND. COM. REP. NO.  350-18


Honolulu, Hawaii

                , 2018


RE:   H.B. No. 2228

      H.D. 1





Honorable Scott K. Saiki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Twenty-Ninth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2018

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Public Safety, to which was referred H.B. No. 2228 entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


     The purpose of this measure is to require individuals who are disqualified from firearms and ammunition ownership or possession to voluntarily surrender or dispose of their firearms and ammunition within twenty-four hours of notice of disqualification.


     The Maui Police Department, Hawaii Chapter for Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America, and many concerned individuals supported this measure.  The National Rifle Association of America, Hawaii Rifle Association, and numerous concerned individuals opposed this measure.  The Mayor of the County of Hawaii and Honolulu Police Department offered comments.


     Your Committee has amended this measure by:


     (1)  Adding new language to shorten the period by which firearms and ammunition must be surrendered or disposed of after receiving notice of denial of a permit to acquire a firearm from thirty days to forty-eight hours; and


     (2)  Amending the period by which firearms and ammunition must be surrendered after receiving notice of disqualification from ownership or possession from twenty-four to forty-eight hours and specifying that notice of disqualification may be based on notice in conjunction with a criminal conviction or restraining order, in addition to notice of denial of a permit to acquire.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Public Safety that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2228, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2228, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Judiciary.



Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Public Safety,