Honolulu, Hawaii



RE:    GOV. MSG. NO. 541




Honorable Ronald D. Kouchi

President of the Senate

Twenty-Ninth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2018

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Labor, to which was referred Governor's Message No. 541, submitting for study and consideration the nomination of: 


Hoisting Machine Operators Advisory Board


G.M. No. 541


for a term to expire 06-30-2021,


begs leave to report as follows:


     Your Committee reviewed the personal history, resume, and statement submitted by Don Bailey for service on the Hoisting Machine Operators Advisory Board.


     Your Committee received testimony in support of the nomination for the appointment of Mr. Bailey from the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations and Hoisting Machine Operators Advisory Board.


     Upon review of the testimony, your Committee finds that Mr. Bailey's experience as a certified crane inspector, background, and knowledge qualify him for appointment to the Hoisting Machine Operators Advisory Board as an at-large representative.  Mr. Bailey is currently employed as the Chief Executive Officer of Doc Bailey Construction Equipment Inc.  Mr. Bailey also has over thirty-two years of experience in servicing and operating cranes, including twenty-six years of experience as a certified crane inspector and crane maintenance with welding, fabrication, design, and repair.  Your Committee finds that Mr. Bailey brings to the Advisory Board extensive expertise in crane maintenance and operation that will assist the Advisory Board to ensure that regulatory requirements are met and safety compliance is maintained.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Labor that is attached to this report, your Committee, after full consideration of the background, experience, and qualifications of the nominee, has found the nominee to be qualified for the position to which nominated and recommends that the Senate advise and consent to the nomination.


Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Labor,