STAND. COM. REP. NO. 909-18


Honolulu, Hawaii

, 2018


RE: H.B. No. 2728

H.D. 1





Honorable Scott K. Saiki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Twenty-Ninth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2018

State of Hawaii




Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 2728, H.D. 1, entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


The purpose of this measure is to begin the State's transition to 100% clean ground transportation by:


(1) Establishing a Clean Transportation Initiative to reduce and ultimately eliminate the use of fossil fuels in:


(A) All public ground transportation by 2035; and


(B) All ground transportation thereafter, pursuant to a plan that includes a near term 2025 target benchmark for all ground transportation and is developed with the State Energy Office to assist stakeholders in achieving these clean ground transportation goals; and


(2) Clarifying that the transportation objectives of the State Planning Act shall include the reduction and ultimate elimination of the use of fossil fuels in all public ground transportation by 2035, and in all ground transportation thereafter.


The Oahu County Committee on Legislative Priorities of the Democratic Party of Hawaii, Sierra Student Coalition at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, Hawaii Interfaith Power & Light, Hawaii Bioeconomy Trade Organization, Ulupono Initiative, Young Progressives Demanding Action Hawaii,, and many concerned individuals supported this measure. The Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism, Department of Transportation, Office of Information Practices, Office of Planning, Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers, Blue Planet Foundation, Hawaii Petroleum Marketers Association, and Tesla, Inc. provided comments.


As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2728, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.



Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,