Honolulu, Hawaii

                , 2017


RE:   H.B. No. 1150





Honorable Joseph M. Souki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Twenty-Ninth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2017

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred H.B. No. 1150 entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


     The purpose of this measure is to extend the end date of the temporary exemption that exempts the Department of Transportation (Department) and its contractors from certain state requirements for certain bridge rehabilitation projects from June 30, 2017, to June 30, 2022.


     The Department supported this measure.  The Office of Hawaiian Affairs and Beneficiary Advocacy and Empowerment Committee opposed this measure.  


     Your Committee finds that the Highways Division of the Department is responsible for providing a safe, efficient, and effective land transportation system for the safe movement of people and goods.  A critical and vital component of the land transportation system is the hundreds of bridges that span the many streams, rivers, and gulches across the islands.  The Department, however, has not been able to keep pace with the increasing need to upgrade and replace aging bridges. 


     Act 218, Session Laws of Hawaii 2012, expedites the construction of projects for the bridge rehabilitation and replacement program by providing a temporary exemption from certain state requirements.  This exemption will expire on June 30, 2017.  The extension of time authorized by this measure will allow the Department to continue moving forward with the listed bridge rehabilitation and replacement projects through completion of construction and provide for the most efficient manner to do so.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 1150 and recommends that it pass Second Reading and be referred to your Committee on Judiciary.



Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,