Honolulu, Hawaii

                , 2013


RE:   H.B. No. 252

      H.D. 2





Honorable Joseph M. Souki

Speaker, House of Representatives

Twenty-Seventh State Legislature

Regular Session of 2013

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred H.B. No. 252, H.D. 1, entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


     The purpose of this measure is to:


(1)  Require the Native Hawaiian Roll Commission, in cooperation with the Office of Hawaiian Affairs, to submit annual reports to the Governor and the Legislature prior to each regular session;


(2)  Specify that the roll of qualified Native Hawaiians is confidential;


(3)  For purposes of establishing the roll of qualified Native Hawaiians, expand the criteria of a "qualified Native Hawaiian" to include an individual who meets the ancestry requirements of Kamehameha Schools or of the Hawaiian Registry Program of the Office of Hawaiian Affairs; and


(4)  Repeal the directive to amend the Hawaiian Homes Commission Act that is included in the state law which established the Native Hawaiian Roll Commission, since no amendment to that Act is required to accomplish the purpose of the Roll Commission.


     The Association of Hawaiian Civic Clubs and a concerned individual supported this measure.  Two concerned individuals opposed this measure.  The Department of Hawaiian Home Lands, Office of Hawaiian Affairs, and Native Hawaiian Roll Commission commented on this measure.


     Your Committee has amended this measure by changing its effective date to January 1, 2100, to promote further discussion.


     Technical, nonsubstantive amendments were also made for clarity, consistency, and style.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 252, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 252, H.D. 2.


Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,