Honolulu, Hawaii


RE: GOV. MSG. NOS. 200, 199, 198




Honorable Colleen Hanabusa

President of the Senate

Twenty-Fifth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2010

State of Hawaii




Your Committee on Economic Development and Technology, to which was referred Governor's Message Nos. 200, 199, and 198, submitting for study and consideration the nominations of:


Stadium Authority


G.M. No. 200


for a term to expire 6-30-2014;


G.M. No. 199


for a term to expire 6-30-2014; and


G.M. No. 198


for a term to expire 6-30-2014,


begs leave to report as follows:


Your Committee reviewed the personal histories, resumes, and statements submitted by the nominees, and finds the nominees to have the necessary qualifications to be appointed to the Stadium Authority.


Testimony in support of Kathryn Whang Inouye was submitted by the Department of Accounting and General Services; Child and Family Service; The Pacific Resource Partnership; Alexander & Baldwin, Inc.; Pahio Development, Inc.; and four individuals.


Kathryn Whang Inouye is Chief Operating Officer for the Kobayashi Group, LLC, where she is responsible for oversight of all phases of the company's project development activities. She has over thirty years of real estate experience managing development of planned communities, luxury resort communities, hotels and condominiums, schools, and offices. Ms. Inouye is a graduate of the University of Hawaii at Manoa, with a Bachelor of Education degree, and the recipient of numerous awards for her extensive community service activities. She is a reappointment to the Stadium Authority, where her private and public sector real estate and development expertise has helped the Authority develop a business-oriented approach in addressing its long-term infrastructure and financing requirements.


Testimony in support of Kenneth B. Marcus Esq., was submitted by the Department of Accounting and General Services.


Kenneth B. Marcus Esq., is Director of Starn O'Toole Marcus & Fisher, a position he has held since 1999. He has over thirty years experience as an attorney in commercial real estate development, joint venture financing, and real estate contractual requirements. Mr. Marcus holds a B.S. from the University of Pennsylvania Wharton School and a J.D. from New York University School of Law. He is active in civic and professional organizations and has received the highest ratings for skill and integrity from several attorney rating organizations. Mr. Marcus is a reappointment to the Stadium Authority, where he has chaired several committees due to his business and legal experience.


Testimony in support of Alan S. Tamayose was submitted by the Department of Accounting and General Services.


Alan S. Tamayose is President and Owner of Aegis Hawaii, Inc., dba Aegis Payroll, a business he has owned and operated since 1996. He is a Certified Public Accountant and has over thirty years experience as a chief financial officer at several large and small companies. Mr. Tamayose holds a B.B.A. from the University of Hawaii and a M.B.A. from Long Beach State University. He is active in professional and civic organizations, including service in nonprofit board executive positions. Mr. Tamayose is a reappointment to the Stadium Authority, where he recently chaired the committee responsible for developing requests for proposals for the Aloha Swap Meet and vendor selection. Your Committee notes that Mr. Tamayose was knowledgeable with respect to the Stadium Authority's funding sources, and the need to reconcile public recreational uses with any enhanced recreation and entertainment uses in the future.


Written testimony presented to the Committee may be reviewed on the Legislature's website.


As affirmed by the records of votes of the members of your Committee on Economic Development and Technology that are attached to this report, your Committee, after full consideration of the background, experience, and qualifications of the nominees, has found the nominees to be qualified for the positions to which nominated and recommends that the Senate advise and consent to the nominations.


Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Economic Development and Technology,