Hawaii State Legislature
2004 Legislative Session

HB2184 HD2

Generated on 7/19/2004 11:17:34 AM

Report Title: Board of Education (ConAm)
Description: Proposes to amend Article 4, Section 2, and Article X, section 2 of the Hawaii Constitution to provide for election of Board of Education members from school member districts as provided by law; upon passage of the constitutional amendment, requires 17 BOE members, with one member per district to be elected out of 17 school member districts; requires residency in the school district; creates a temporary School Member District Commission modeled on the Reapportionment Commission to establish 17 school member districts that to the extent possible preserve school complex and community boundaries; provides that thereafter the Reapportionment Commission shall in a reapportionment year redraw school district boundaries consistent with statutory criteria and reapportioned districts. (HB2184 HD2)
Package: None
Introducer(s): SAIKI
Current Referral:EDU/JHW/WAM

Date Status Text
1/28/2004HPass First Reading
1/28/2004HReferred to EDN/JUD, FIN, referral sheet 4.
1/28/2004HBill scheduled to be heard by EDN/JUD on Friday, 01-30-04 at 2:00 pm in House conference room 309.
1/30/2004HThe committee(s) recommends that the measure be deferred until 2/06/2004, at 2:00PM.
2/6/2004HThe committee(s) recommends that the measure be deferred until 2/13/2004.
2/13/2004HThe committee(s) recommends that the measure be deferred until 2/19/2004.
2/19/2004HThe committees on EDN recommend that the measure be PASSED, WITH AMENDMENTS. The votes were as follows: 10 Ayes: Representative(s) Takumi, Evans, Morita, Schatz, Takai; Ayes with reservations: Representative(s) Tamayo, Blundell, Ching, Leong, Ontai; 2 Noes: Representative(s) Arakaki, Hale; and 1 Excused: Representative(s) Kahikina.
2/19/2004HThe committees on JUD recommend that the measure be PASSED, WITH AMENDMENTS. The votes were as follows: 13 Ayes: Representative(s) Hamakawa, B. Oshiro, Caldwell, Lee, Pendleton; Ayes with reservations: Representative(s) Chang, Herkes, M. Oshiro, Sonson, Souki, Finnegan, Marumoto, Thielen; 0 Noes: none; and 2 Excused: Representative(s) Ito, Kanoho.
2/20/2004HReported from the committee on EDN/JUD (Stand. Com. Rep. No. 477-04) as amended in (HD 1), recommending passage on Second Reading and referral to the committee on FIN.
2/20/2004HPassed Second Reading as amended in (HD 1) and referred to the committee(s) on FIN with Representative(s) Arakaki, Hale, Kahikina, Nishimoto, B. Oshiro, Schatz, Stonebraker voting no and Representative(s) Bukoski, Pendleton excused.
2/24/2004HBill scheduled to be heard by FIN on Thursday, 02-26-04 at 4:30 pm in House conference room 308.
2/26/2004HThe committee(s) recommends that the measure be deferred until 2/27/2004.
2/27/2004HBill scheduled for decision making on Friday, 02-27-04 at 10:00 am in conference room 308.
2/27/2004HThe committee(s) recommends that the measure be deferred.
3/1/2004HBill scheduled for decision making on Tuesday, 03-02-04 at 5:00 pm in conference room 308.
3/2/2004HThe committees on FIN recommend that the measure be PASSED, WITH AMENDMENTS. The votes were as follows: 9 Ayes: Representative(s) Takamine, Kawakami, Kaho`ohalahala, Karamatsu, Nakasone, Shimabukuro, Wakai, Waters; Ayes with reservations: Representative(s) Bukoski; 2 Noes: Representative(s) Nishimoto, Jernigan; and 4 Excused: Representative(s) Magaoay, Mindo, Meyer, Moses.
3/5/2004HReported from the committee on FIN (Stand. Com. Rep. No. 772-04) as amended in (HD 2), recommending passage on Third Reading.
3/5/2004HForty-eight (48) hours notice Tuesday, 3/9/2004.
3/9/2004HFloor Amendment No. 4 offered by Rep. Fox.
3/9/2004HFloor amendment failed following Roll Call vote: Ayes, 12. Noes, 39 (Representative(s) Abinsay, Arakaki, Bukoski, Caldwell, Chang, Evans, Hale, Halford, Hamakawa, Herkes, Hiraki, Ito, Kahikina, Kaho`ohalahala, Kanoho, Karamatsu, Kawakami, Lee, Luke, Magaoay, Mindo, Morita, Nakasone, Nishimoto, M. Oshiro, B. Oshiro, Saiki, Say, Schatz, Shimabukuro, Sonson, Souki, Takai, Takamine, Takumi, Tamayo, Thielen, Wakai, Waters). Excused, 0 (none).
3/9/2004HPassed Third Reading as amended in (HD 2) with Representative(s) Arakaki, Bukoski, Finnegan, Hale, Jernigan, Kahikina, Meyer, Moses, Nishimoto, Ontai voting no and Morita excused.
3/10/2004HNotice of bill proposing constitutional amendment transmitted to Governor pursuant to Article XVII, Section 3.
3/9/2004HTransmitted to Senate.
3/11/2004SReceived from House (Hse. Com. No. 206).
3/11/2004SPassed First Reading.
3/11/2004SDeferred until 03-12-04.
3/12/2004SReferred to EDU/JHW/WAM.

$ = Appropriation measure
ConAm = Constitutional Amendment