Honolulu, Hawaii

, 2002

RE: GOV. MSG. NO. 350



Honorable Robert Bunda

President of the Senate

Twenty-First State Legislature

Regular Session of 2002

State of Hawaii


Your Committee on Commerce, Consumer Protection and Housing, to which was referred Governor's Message No. 350, submitting for study and consideration the nominations of:


KATHRYN RICE ILGEN, D.V.M., and GARY Y. MURAI, for terms to expire June 30, 2006,

begs leave to report as follows:

Upon review of the testimony and written statements submitted by the nominees, your Committee finds that Kathryn Rice Ilgen and Gary Y. Murai have the necessary character, experience, and qualifications to serve on the Board of Veterinary Examiners ("Board").

Kathryn Rice Ilgen is a Veterinarian with Under Dog, Inc. Makawao Veterinary Clinic. She earned her Doctorate in Veterinary Medicine from Colorado State University. Dr. Ilgen's professional affiliations include the American Veterinary Medical Association, Hawaii Veterinary Medical Association, and Feline Foundation of Maui.

Gary Y. Murai is an attorney with the Legal Aid Society of Hawaii. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from the University of Hawaii Hilo, and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Hawaii William S. Richardson School of Law. Mr. Murai's professional affiliations include the Hawaii County and Hawaii State Bar Associations.

Based upon the foregoing and the testimony submitted, your Committee finds that the nominees have been appointed based upon their credentials, integrity, and a desire to improve Hawaii through their service on the Board.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Commerce, Consumer Protection and Housing that is attached to this report, your Committee, after full consideration of the background, character, experience, and qualifications of the nominees, has found the nominees to be qualified for the positions to which nominated and recommends that the Senate advise and consent to the nominations.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Commerce, Consumer Protection and Housing,