REPORT TITLE: State ID cards

DESCRIPTION: Establishes reduced fees for elders; allows renewal
by mail; establishes expiration on birthdates. (CD1)

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES                H.B. NO.           S.D. 1
TWENTIETH LEGISLATURE, 2000                                C.D. 1
STATE OF HAWAII                                            

                   A  BILL  FOR  AN  ACT



 1      SECTION 1.  The purposes of this Act are:
 2      (1)  To change the expiration date on the state
 3           identification card to coincide with an individual's
 4           birthday in the year it expires;
 5      (2)  To provide the option for renewal by mail for certain
 6           individuals; and
 7      (3)  To provide that seniors shall be charged a reduced fee
 8           for the card.
 9      SECTION 2.  Section 846-23, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is
10 amended to read as follows:
11      "846-23  Rules.  For the purpose of carrying out this part
12 the attorney general, subject to chapter 91, shall prescribe
13 rules having the force and effect of law including rules
14 assessing reasonable fees for the services provided under this
15 part.  The rules shall provide for a waiver of any fee in cases
16 of extreme hardship.  Until rules establishing the fees are
17 adopted, the fee for each service provided under this part shall
18 be $15, which fee may be waived in cases of extreme hardship[.]
19 and which shall be reduced to $10 for any person who is sixty-
20 five years old or older."

Page 2                                                     2418
                                     H.B. NO.           S.D. 1
                                                        C.D. 1

 1      SECTION 3.  Section 846-27, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is
 2 amended to read as follows:
 3      "846-27  Registration and issuance of certificates; fee;
 4 revolving fund.(a)  Every person residing or present in the
 5 State may be registered, and have issued to the person a
 6 certificate of identification, under this part.
 7      (b)  Application for the registration shall be made in
 8 person by any adult person or minor over the age of fourteen
 9 years.  In the case of a minor under the age of fourteen years,
10 the application shall be made in the minor's behalf by the
11 parent, or by another person in loco parentis of such minor who
12 can provide proof of guardianship.  In the case of an incompetent
13 person, the application shall be made by the person having the
14 custody or control of or maintaining the incompetent person.
15      (c)  Application for renewal of a certificate of
16 identification issued after November 1, 1998, for a person sixty-
17 five years old or older may be done by mailing in a completed
18 application and fee, if there is no change in name and
19 citizenship.  The department shall adopt rules to allow for
20 renewal by mail for persons with physical or mental disabilities
21 for whom application in person presents a serious burden.
22      [(c)] (d)  There is established in the state treasury a
23 revolving fund to be known as the state identification revolving

Page 3                                                     2418
                                     H.B. NO.           S.D. 1
                                                        C.D. 1

 1 fund.  The fund shall consist of all fees assessed for the
 2 processing and issuance of certificates of identification under
 3 this part.  The fund shall be administered by the attorney
 4 general for the purposes of this part.
 5      [(d)] (e)  The fund shall be held separate and apart from
 6 all other moneys, funds, and accounts in the state treasury.
 7 Interest and investment earnings credited to the assets of the
 8 fund shall become a part of the fund.  Any balance remaining in
 9 the fund at the end of any fiscal year shall be carried forward
10 in the fund for the next fiscal year."
11      SECTION 4.  Section 846-30.5, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is
12 amended to read as follows:
13      "[[]846-30.5[]]  Expiration date.  Every certificate of
14 identification issued under this part, whether an original or a
15 renewal, shall bear an expiration date which shall be on the
16 person's birthday, six years after the [date] year of issuance;
17 provided that if the person is a legal nonimmigrant, the
18 certificate shall bear an expiration date that is the same as the
19 expiration date on the person's Immigration and Naturalization
20 Service departure card (I-94).  All certificates of
21 identification issued without expiration dates shall expire on
22 December 31, 1999.  To provide for the transition to expiration
23 dates that are birthdays of the persons issued certificates, any

Page 4                                                     2418
                                     H.B. NO.           S.D. 1
                                                        C.D. 1

 1 certificate issued to a person with an expiration date other than
 2 the birthday of that person in the year of expiration shall
 3 expire on that person's last birthday immediately preceding the
 4 certificate's stated expiration date."
 5      SECTION 5.  Statutory material to be repealed is bracketed.
 6 New statutory material is underscored.
 7      SECTION 6.  This Act shall take effect on July 1, 2000.