Honolulu, Hawaii
                                                   , 1999

                                 RE: H.B. No. 286
                                     H.D. 2

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say
Speaker, House of Representatives
Twentieth State Legislature
Regular Session of 1999
State of Hawaii


     Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No.
286, H.D. 1, entitled: 


begs leave to report as follows:

     The purpose of this bill is to promote safer streets by
establishing maximum speed limits and fines for speeding
violations in school zones and construction areas.

     The Department of Transportation (DOT), the Police
Department of the City and County of Honolulu, and Jas W. Glover,
Ltd., testified in support of this measure.  The Department of
Education testified in support of the intent of this measure.

     Your Committee recommends that DOT consider the following
factors when designating school zones and construction areas,
establishing maximum speed limits, and establishing the times in
which maximum speed limits will be in effect:

     1)   The times in which schools in a school zone are in

     (2)  The times in which construction activities are being
          conducted in a construction area;

     (3)  The placement of official signs; and

     (4)  Existing maximum speed limits.

                                 STAND. COM. REP. NO. 960
                                 Page 2

     Your Committee has amended this measure by making technical,
nonsubstantive amendments for clarity and style.

     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your
Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your
Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No.
286, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third
Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 286, H.D. 2.

                                   Respectfully submitted on
                                   behalf of the members of the
                                   Committee on Finance,

                                   DWIGHT Y. TAKAMINE, Chair