Honolulu, Hawaii
                                                   , 1999

                                 RE: H.B. No. 1052
                                     H.D. 1

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say
Speaker, House of Representatives
Twentieth State Legislature
Regular Session of 1999
State of Hawaii


     Your Committee on Judiciary and Hawaiian Affairs, to which
was referred H.B. No. 1052 entitled: 


begs leave to report as follows:

     The purpose of this bill is to transfer fifty percent of all
fines and forfeitures collected for uncontested traffic
infractions to the counties.

     Testimony in support of the bill was received by the City
and County of Honolulu Department of Budget and the County of
Hawaii Department of Finance.  Additional testimony was received
from the Judiciary and the State Department of Budget and

     Your Committee finds that the State annually collects
approximately $10,000,000 in parking and traffic fine revenues.
Of this amount, your Committee further finds that about
$5,000,000 represents unadjudicated fines that are paid without
further expenditure on the part of the State.

     Your Committee believes that the shared collections approach
taken by this measure will assist the counties to fund necessary
programs and to make up for any anticipated budgetary shortfalls.

     Your Committee has amended this bill by making technical,
nonsubstantive amendments for purposes of style and clarity.

                                 STAND. COM. REP. NO. 543
                                 Page 2

     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your
Committee on Judiciary and Hawaiian Affairs that is attached to
this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and
purpose of H.B. No. 1052, as amended herein, and recommends that
it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No.
1052, H.D. 1, and be referred to the Committee on Finance.

                                   Respectfully submitted on
                                   behalf of the members of the
                                   Committee on Judiciary &
                                   Hawaiian Affairs,

                                   PAUL T. OSHIRO, Chair