Honolulu, Hawaii
                                                     , 1999

                                   RE:  GOV. MSG. NO. 339

Honorable Norman Mizuguchi
President of the Senate
Twentieth State Legislature
Regular Session of 1999
State of Hawaii


     Your Committee on Commerce and Consumer Protection, to which
was referred Governor's Message No. 339, submitting for study and
consideration the nominations of:


     G.M. No. 339       BARBARA K. IDETA, R.N., STEPHEN A. KULA,
                        Ph.D., SANDRA MARIE MYERS, L.P.N., and
                        KENDALL DEBORAH SHARPLESS, R.N., for
                        terms to expire June 30, 2002, 

begs leave to report as follows:

     The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs and Hawaii
Nurses' Association presented testimony in support of nominees
Barbara K. Ideta, Sandra Marie Myers, and Kendall Deborah
Sharpless.  The Hawaii Nurses' Association and an individual
presented testimony in support of nominee Stephen A. Kula.
Although not present, the Waimanalo Health Center, Hawaii
Association for Home Care, Healthcare Association of Hawaii, and
three individuals submitted testimony in support of Stephen A.

     Upon review of the statements submitted by the nominees,
your Committee finds that the nominees are volunteers, willing to
serve without compensation, who will assist in administering the
functions of the State Board of Nursing with compassion and

a                                                     GM339
                                   STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1852
                                   Page 2

     Your Committee notes as follows with respect to the specific
qualifications of the nominees:

     Barbara K. Ideta, R.N., is Assistant Vice-President of Out-
Patient Services at Kuakini Medical Center and has served in
managerial or supervisory nursing positions in the State for
almost forty years.  Ms. Ideta's community service activities
include serving on the board of Hospice Hawaii, chairing the
Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council, and serving on the
State Emergency Medical Services Advisory Committee.  The nominee
has served on the State Board of Nursing since 1966.

     Stephen A. Kula, Ph.D., is President of Hospice Hawaii,
Inc., and holds a nursing home administrator's license from the
Department of Health.  Dr. Kula received his Bachelor's and
Master's degrees from Colorado State University and a Doctorate
degree from Kennedy Western University.  The nominee's community
service activities include serving as Vice-President and past
President of the Hawaii State Hospice Network, and on the boards
of Queen's Medical Center Cancer Institute, Interfaith Ministries
of Hawaii, and Aloha United Way.

     Sandra Marie Myers, L.P.N., has been licensed as an L.P.N.
and employed by Kapiolani Medical Center for Women and Children
(KMCWC) for twenty-two years.  Additionally, Ms. Myers has served
on the Nursing Advisory Committee of the Regulated Industries and
Complaints Office, on the board of the Pan Pacific South East
Asia Women's Association, and as L.P.N. Unit Chair for KMCWC.
The nominee has been a member of the State Board of Nursing since

     Kendall Deborah Sharpless, R.N., is Quality Assurance
Coordinator at Kula Hospital, and has been a registered nurse for
almost twenty-five years.  The nominee's professional
affiliations include membership in the Hawaii Nurses'
Association, American Nurses Association, and National
Association for Health Care Quality.  Ms. Sharpless has served on
the State Board of Nursing since 1996.  

     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your
Committee on Commerce and Consumer Protection that is attached to
this report, your Committee, after full consideration of the
background, character, experience, and qualifications of the
nominees, has found the nominees to be qualified for the
positions to which nominated and recommends that the Senate
advise and consent to the nominations.

a                                                     GM339
                                   STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1852
                                   Page 3

                                   Respectfully submitted on
                                   behalf of the members of the
                                   Committee on Commerce and
                                   Consumer Protection,

                                   BRIAN KANNO, Co-Chair

                                   BRIAN T. TANIGUCHI, Co-Chair

a                                                     GM339