Honolulu, Hawaii
                                                     , 1999

                                   RE:  GOV. MSG. NO. 311

Honorable Norman Mizuguchi
President of the Senate
Twentieth State Legislature
Regular Session of 1999
State of Hawaii


     Your Committee on Commerce and Consumer Protection, to which
was referred Governor's Message No. 311, submitting for study and
consideration the nominations of:


     G.M. No. 311       DAVID D.S. CHUN and BUSTER M. KOMORI, for
                        terms to expire June 30, 2003; 

begs leave to report as follows:

     Upon review of the statements submitted by the nominees,
your Committee finds that the nominees are volunteers, willing to
serve without compensation, and will assist in administering the
functions of the Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board (Board)
with compassion and commitment.

     Your Committee notes as follows with respect to the specific
qualifications of the nominees:

     David D.S. Chun is President of Honolulu Ford and has worked
in the automotive industry since 1965.  Mr. Chun is a member of
the Hawaii Auto Dealers Association and the Car Rental and Truck
Leasing Association.
     Buster M. Komori has operated Buster's Repair Services,
Inc., since 1945 and has been recognized by his peers with an
Honorary Merit Award from the Automotive Body and Painting
Association and a Founders Award from the Interindustry

a                                                     GM311      
                                   STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1825
                                   Page 2

Conference on Auto Collision Repair.  Mr. Komori has served two
terms on the Board, including a term as Board Chairperson.

     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your
Committee on Commerce and Consumer Protection that is attached to
this report, your Committee, after full consideration of the
background, character, experience, and qualifications of the
nominees, has found the nominees to be qualified for the
positions to which nominated and recommends that the Senate
advise and consent to the nominations.

                                   Respectfully submitted on
                                   behalf of the members of the
                                   Committee on Commerce and
                                   Consumer Protection,

                                   BRIAN KANNO, Co-Chair

                                   BRIAN T. TANIGUCHI, Co-Chair

a                                                     GM311