Honolulu, Hawaii
                                                     , 1999

                                   RE:  GOV. MSG. NO. 239

Honorable Norman Mizuguchi
President of the Senate
Twentieth State Legislature
Regular Session of 1999
State of Hawaii


     Your Committee on Water, Land, and Hawaiian Affairs, to
which was referred Governor's Message No. 239, submitting for
study and consideration the nominations of:


     G.M. No. 239            JOHN GOODY and FRANCIS I. SHIMANUKI,
                             for terms to expire, June 30, 2000,

                             KELVIN K.F. CHING and DAVID HIGGINS,
                             for terms to expire, June 30, 2001,

                             KIM NICHOLAS HOLLAND, Ph.D, LYNN J.
                             LEE, and KURT K. MENCH, for terms to
                             expire, June 30, 2002, 

begs leave to report as follows:

     Testimony in favor of John Goody was received from Kanaka
Ikaika Ocean Kayak Racing, Kaluhiwa Ohana Organization,
Keahiakahoe Canoe Club, and three individuals.  Testimony in
opposition was received from Hawaiian Island Jet Sport
Association, Boats Hawaii, Thrill Craft Advisory Committee, and
one individual.

     Testimony in favor of Francis Shimanuki was received from
one individual,

a                                                     GM239
                                   STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1783
                                   Page 2

     Testimony in favor of Kelvin Ching was received from the
Keahiakahoe Canoe Club and one individual.

     Testimony in favor of Lynn Lee was received from the Office
of Hawaiian Affairs.

     Testimony in favor of Kurt Mench was received from Kahaluu
Neighborhood Board No. 29, Keahiakahoe Canoe Club, and Kaluhiwa
Ohana Organization.
     Upon review of the resumes and other background information
submitted by the nominees, your Committee finds that the nominees
bring a unique range of skills, abilities, and experiences to the
Kaneohe Bay Regional Council.

     Your Committee notes the following specific qualifications
of the nominees:

     John Goody has been an engineer at Belt Collins and
Associates from 1988.  During his tenure, he participated in and
directed numerous environmental studies and planning studies
involving effects of land and water uses on the ocean and near-
shore environments, including Kaneohe Bay.

     Francis Shimanuki is currently the Treasurer of the Kaneohe
Bay Commercial Operators Association and is Vice President of
Morning Star Cruises, Inc., one of the larger tour operators in
Kaneohe Bay.  

     Kelvin Ching is currently self-employed and has worked at
Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard.  He participated in many of the
Kaneohe Bay Task Force meetings and has attended Kaneohe Bay
Regional Council meetings for the last two and a half years.  

     David Higgins is President and CEO of Marimed Foundation and
has a United States Coast Guard License, Master, Oceans, 500
tons.  Mr. Higgins is a trustee of the Hawaii Maritime Center.

     Kim Holland has been a biologist at the University of Hawaii
since 1980.  Mr. Holland is currently on the Kaneohe Bay Regional

     Lynn Lee has been an environmental planner with the Office
of Hawaiian Affairs since 1989.  Ms. Lee is currently on the
Kaneohe Bay Regional Council.

     Kurt Mench has been a commercial fisherman since 1975 and a
member of the Fishing Panel for Kaneohe Bay and Kahaluu District
Park Planning Committee.

a                                                     GM239
                                   STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1783
                                   Page 3

     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your
Committee on Water, Land, and Hawaiian Affairs that is attached
to this report, your Committee, after full consideration of the
background, character, experience, and qualifications of the
nominees, has found the nominees to be qualified for the
positions to which nominated and recommends that the Senate
advise and consent to the nominations.

                                   Respectfully submitted on
                                   behalf of the members of the
                                   Committee on Water, Land, and
                                   Hawaiian Affairs,

                                   COLLEEN HANABUSA, Chair

a                                                     GM239