31st Legislature, 2022
View Legislative Calendar
Floor session convene time for January 26, 2022:
Senate: 11:30 a.m. | House of Representatives: 12:00 p.m.
Find Your Legislator  



Senate District 24
Hawaii State Capitol
Room: 202
phone: 808-587-7215
fax: 808-587-7220

Member of the following committees:
•  George Washington University, Washington D.C. - Bachelor of Arts in International Relations, Minor in Japanese Studies
•  James B. Castle High School, Kaneohe, HI - Magna Cum Laude Graduate
•  Samuel Wilder King Intermediate School, Kaneohe, HI
•  Kaneohe Elementary School, Kaneohe, HI

•  Reynolds Recycling, Director of Community Relations (Former)
•  Charitable Ventures, Inc. (CVI), President and Founder (Former)
•  National Kidney Foundation of Hawaii, Director of Development (Former)
•  Office of Lieutenant Governor Mazie Hirono, Executive Aide (Former)

•  2017: Chair of the Senate Committee on Labor
•  2015-2017: Chair of the Senate Committee on Ways and Means
•  2011-2014: Chair of the Senate Committee on Education, Majority Whip
•  2011: Co-Chair of the Charter School Governance Task Force
•  2009-2010: Chair of the Senate Committee on Higher Education, Majority Whip
•  2009-2010: Vice Chair of the Senate Committee on Water, Land, Agriculture & Hawaiian Affairs
•  2008: Chair of the Senate Committee on Agriculture and Hawaii Affairs
•  2007-2008: Vice Chair of the Senate Committee on Education
•  2007-2008: Co-Chair Joint Senate-House Investigative Committee on the Bureau of Conveyances
•  2007: Vice Chair of the Senate Committee on Water, Land, Agriculture & Hawaiian Affairs
•  Hawaii 2050 Sustainability Task Force, Senate Member
•  Women's Legislative Caucus, Member

National Boards and Commissions
•  National Conference of State Legislatures Early Learning Fellows Program (2013)
•  National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) Education Committee Member (2013 - 2014)
•  Council of State Government Education Policy Task Force, Member (2011 - present)
•  Education Commission of the States, Hawaii Commissioner (2010 - present)
•  Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education's Legislative Advisory Committee, Member (2009 - present)
•  Complete College of America, Hawaii Team Member (2010)

Community Groups and Organizations
•  Castle High School Alumni Association Knight of Distinction, Co-Chair (2010 - present)
•  Hawaii P-20 Council, Member (2010 - present)
•  Joint Venture Education Forum, Board Member (JVEF) (2010 - present)
•  Smaller Learning Communities, Advisory Board Member (2011 - present)

Past Community Involvement
•  487th Field Artillery Family Awareness Group, Volunteer (2005 & 2008 deployments)
•  Friends of the National Kidney Foundation of Hawaii, Board Member
•  Hawaii State Student Conference, Windward District Advisor (1999)
•  Honolulu Civic Entrepreneur, Pew Civic Entrepreneur Initiative (1998-2000)
•  Koolau Youth Correctional Facility, Mentor (1999)
•  Lanakila Meals on Wheels ,Volunteer (2000-present)
•  State of Hawaii Executive Office on Aging Policy Advisory Board for Elderly Affairs, Board Member (1998-2004)
•  U.S. Transplant Games, Hawaii Team Manager (2004)
•  2017 Capitol Caregiver Award from AARP Hawai‘i
•  2017 Legislator of the Year Award from the Hawaii Farm Bureau
•  2017 Achievement in Advocacy Award from the Healthcare Association of Hawaii
•  2016 Hawaii Dental Association Legislator of the Year
•  2015 Joint Venture Education Forum Outstanding Contributor Award
•  2014 Kiwanis Club of Kaneohe Distinguished Service Award
•  2014 National Alliance of Public Charter Schools Champion for Charters Award
•  2014 Hawaii Public Charter School Network Legislator of the Year
•  2013 Hawaii Public Charter School Network Legislator of the Year
•  2011 Hawaii Chamber of Commerce Partnership in Education Award
•  2009 Kaneohe Neighborhood Board Kaneohe Citizen of the Year
•  2002 Hawaii Jaycees Three Outstanding Young Persons Honoree
•  2000 Pacific Business News Top 40 Under Forty Awardee
•  Patsy Mink Political Action Committee Founding Member
•  Windward Jaycees Founding Member & Board Member
Measures Introduced
No Measures Introduced