30th Legislature, 2019
View Legislative Calendar
Floor session convene times for January 18, 2019:
Senate: 11:30 a.m. | House of Representatives: 12:00 p.m.
Find Your Legislator  



Senate District 14
Hawaii State Capitol
Room 218
phone: 808-587-7200
fax: 808-587-7205
Member of the following committees:
District Information
14th Senatorial District Map - Kapalama, ‘Alewa, Kalihi Valley, Ft. Shafter, Moanalua Gardens & Valley, portions of Halawa and ‘Aiea

Neighborhood Boards
Liliha/Puunui/Alewa/Kamehameha Heights No. 14
Kalihi/Palama No. 15
Kalihi Valley No. 16
Aiea No. 20

Community Associations
Moanalua Gardens Community Association
Moanalua Valley Community Association
Previous Leadership Assignments
•  President, Hawai‘i State Senate (2013-2015)
•  Vice President, Hawai‘i State Senate (2003-2008, 2011-2013)
•  Chair, Committee on Tourism (2003-2006, 2011-2013)
•  Chair, Special Committee on Accountability (2011-2013)
•  Chair, Committee on Ways and Means (2009-2010)
•  Chair, Committee on Tourism and Intergovernmental Affairs (2001-2002)

•  National Foundation of Women Legislators - Southwest Regional State Director
•  National Association of Latino Elected & Appointed Officials
•  National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators
•  Board of Hispanic Caucus Chair
•  Women In Government - Hawaii State Director

Community Activity
•  Member, Kalihi Business Association
•  Member, Filipino Chamber of Commerce
•  Honorary Member, Hawai‘i Korean Chamber of Commerce
•  Member, Moanalua Lions Club
•  Board of Trustees, Palama Settlement
•  Member, Hawai‘i Korean Millenium Commission
•  Member, Special Committee on Studying Effects of Economy on Judiciary
Awards and Recognition
•  Partner in Education Award, Achieve3000 (2018)
•  Light of the Orient Award, Korean American Foundation of Hawaii (2015)
•  Legislator of the Year, Hawaii Wholesale Liquor Dealers Association Legislator of the Year (2014)
•  Legislator of the Year for the Friends of the Library of Hawaii (2012)
•  Distinguished Honoree by Public Schools of Hawaii Foundation (2012)
•  Outstanding City and County Administrator, American Society for Public Administration (1997)
•  Outstanding Alumni Award, Farrington High School (1997)
•  Hawai‘i Jaycee's Three Outstanding Young Persons (1988)
Measures Introduced