326-34 County of Kalawao; governance. (a) The county of Kalawao shall consist of that portion of the island of Molokai known as Kalaupapa, Kalawao, and Waikolu, and commonly known or designated as the Kalaupapa Settlement, and shall not be or form a portion of the county of Maui, but is constituted a county by itself. As a county it shall have only the powers especially conferred and given by sections 326-34 to 326-38 and, except as provided in those sections, none of the provisions of the Hawaii Revised Statutes regarding counties shall be deemed to refer to or shall be applicable to the county of Kalawao.

(b) The county of Kalawao shall be under the jurisdiction and control of the department of health and be governed by the laws, and rules relating to the department and the care and treatment of persons affected with Hansen's disease, except as otherwise provided by law. [L 1905, c 39, 2; RL 1925, 1577; am L 1931, c 138, 1; am imp L 1933, c 118, 1, 2; RL 1935, 2928; RL 1945, 2438; am L 1949, c 53, 26; am L 1951, c 157, 15; RL 1955, 50-35; am L Sp 1959 2d, c 1, 19; HRS 326-34; am L 1969, c 152, 8; am L 1981, c 185, 16; am L 1988, c 263, 10]


Cross References


District of Kalawao, see 4-1.



Previous Vol06_Ch0321-0344 Next