279A-4 Statewide transportation council; establishment. To assist and advise the state department of transportation in the development of the statewide transportation plan there is hereby established a statewide transportation council consisting of fourteen members. The members of the council shall be the directors of the state department of transportation, the state department of business, economic development, and tourism, the state department of health, the state office of environmental quality control, and the office of planning, the chairperson of the board of agriculture, the planning directors of each of the four counties, and the transportation directors of each of the four counties. The members may be represented at council meetings by their designated alternates. The director of the state department of transportation shall submit recommendations to the council for additional ex officio nonvoting members who, upon the majority vote of the council, shall be invited to serve.

The department of transportation shall furnish staff support to the council; such staff may be exempt from chapter 76. The director of transportation shall be the chairperson of the council. All decisions of the council shall be by majority vote unless otherwise provided. [L 1975, c 179, 4; am L 1979, c 25, 1; am L 1987, c 336, 5; am L 1990, c 293, 8; gen ch 1993; am L 1996, c 299, 3; am L 2000, c 253, 150]



Previous Vol05_Ch0261-0319 Next