[§201.5.]  Federal reaffirmation.  [Text of section subject to consent of Congress.]  The United States and State of Hawaii hereby reaffirm and recognize that:

     (1)  The native Hawaiian people are a distinct native, indigenous people who have maintained their own language, culture, and traditions, and have established Hawaiian home lands areas protected under federal and state law;

     (2)  The United States has a unique trust responsibility to promote the welfare of the aboriginal, indigenous people of the State, and the federal government has delegated broad authority to the State to act for their betterment; and

     (3)  The aboriginal, indigenous people of the State retain their inherent sovereign authority and their right to organize for their common welfare. [L 2001, c 302, pt of §2]