STAND. COM. REP. NO.  271-12


Honolulu, Hawaii

                , 2012


RE:   H.B. No. 2226

      H.D. 1





Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say

Speaker, House of Representatives

Twenty-Sixth State Legislature

Regular Session of 2012

State of Hawaii




     Your Committee on Public Safety & Military Affairs, to which was referred H.B. No. 2226 entitled:




begs leave to report as follows:


     The purpose of this measure is to establish the crime victim notification system special fund and require that a four per cent surcharge on all inmate commissary purchases and commission revenue on inmate telephone usage be deposited into the fund.


     The Department of Public Safety, Department of the Attorney General, Hawaii Paroling Authority, Crime Victim Compensation Commission, Hawaii State Commission on the Status of Women, Department of the Prosecuting Attorney of the City and County of Honolulu, Witness Assistance Division of the Department of the Prosecuting Attorney of the County of Maui, Hawaii State Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Sex Abuse Treatment Center of the Kapiolani Medical Center for Women and Children, Parents and Children Together, and four individuals testified in support of this measure.  The Representative of the fourth representative district of the State of Hawaii testified in opposition to this measure.  The Department of Budget and Finance, Community Alliance on Prisons, and six individuals submitted comments on this measure.


     Your Committee has amended this measure by making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for the purposes of clarity, consistency, and style.


     As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Public Safety & Military Affairs that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2226, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2226, H.D. 1, and be referred to the Committee on Judiciary.


Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Public Safety & Military Affairs,